blank masthead

April Municipal Election Filings

Jan 16, 2013 -- 5:10pm


The April municipal election filings closed Tuesday, with many local hopefuls making it in before the deadline.  With only two vacancies on the Cape Girardeau School Board, at least one will go to a newly-elected member.  Adrian Toole and Jeff Glenn filed for seats on the board, and Phil Moore has filed to renew his three-year term.  Incumbent Paul Nenninger on Tuesday said he would not be filing for another term.  Kathy Swan will depart the Cape Girardeau City Council because of her election to serve the 147th District in the Missouri House of Representatives. Wayne Bowen, chairman of the history department at Southeast Missouri State University was the only one to file for her Ward 6 position as of Tuesday afternoon, and the only person to pick up a petition to secure the required number of signatures.  The Cape Girardeau City Council will hold a special meeting on Thursday at 5pm at the Osage Center for readings of an ordinance calling a general election to elect a Council Member in Ward 6, designating the time of holding the election; authorizing and directing the City Clerk to give notice of the election; they will also discuss a possible vote for a Ward 6 interim position.

Other area municipal filings:


·         In Jackson, incumbent Mayor Barbara Lohr filed to retain her seat, as did sitting aldermen Wanda Young of Ward 1, David Hitt of Ward 2, Mark Dambach of Ward 3 and Tommy Kimbel of Ward 4. Dambach is the only city official facing opposition. Michael A. Steinhilber filed to represent Ward 3 on the board.

·         Two seats on the Jackson School Board will need to be filled, Gerald Adams' and Dan Stover's three-year terms expired and both filed to run again, and Alaina Hinze, Brad Noel and Michele C. Irby also filed.

·         In Perryville, Mo., Board of Aldermen races for wards 1, 2 and 3 will be decided in April. Larry Riney resubmitted his name for Ward 1, Douglas K. Martin will face incumbent Randy J. Leible in Ward 2, and Gary J. Schumer refiled for his Ward 3 seat.

·         Four seats are up for grabs on the Gordonville Fire Protection District board. In November, voters approved adding two members to the three-seat board. The new seats will be six- and four-year terms. Also to be filled is a two-year seat currently held by Collin McClanahan and a six-year seat currently held by Jeff Sneathen. McClanahan was appointed to fill out a term vacated by John Peters, who resigned. Sneathen was appointed to William "Bill" Craig's seat after Craig died in January, 2012, said clerk Susan Koerber.

·         Jeffery Crites filed to fill McClanahan's spot and Ronnie Amelunke Sr. filed for Sneathen's seat. Both will be appointed to the board, since they are unopposed, Koerber said.

·         Bob G. Andrews, Roger English and William Hampton filed for the new board seats. Voters will choose two names at the ballot in April. The front-runner will win the six-year spot and runner-up will secure the four-year term.

Return to: Local News Blog