blank masthead

GOP vote in 8th District race

Feb 11, 2013 -- 9:47am


The 86 member Republican committee has chosen a candidate for the June 4th special election to replace former U.S. Rep. Jo Ann Emerson. A nomination meeting was held in Van Buren and the candidate who received 50 percent of the committee's votes, plus one was House speaker Pro Tem Jason Smith of Salem from a field of 11 including former state Sen. Jason Crowell, Lt. Gov. Peter Kinder, state Rep. Todd Richardson, and former Missouri Republican Party executive director Lloyd Smith.  Organizers had 425 spectators and 84 committee members present.  

Return to: Local News Blog