blank masthead

Democrats to finalize nomination Saturday

Feb 15, 2013 -- 6:00am


The Democratic committee will make their final selection for a candidate in the June 4th special election.  The nominee by the Democratic committee for the 8th Congressional District seat will be chosen Saturday in Poplar Bluff.  Chairwoman of the Democratic committee Cindy Jenks has been working on the agenda for the meeting, and says that until the time when the committee will begin balloting, candidates can join the contest.  Being considered by Democrats for a nomination are state Rep. Steve Hodges, an East Prairie Democrat representing the 149th House District; former mayor of Blodgett Mark Fitchpatrick; De Soto funeral home director Todd Mahn; and Poplar Bluff chiropractor Jack Rushin. Representative Linda Black of Bonne Terre has dropped out of the race. The committee has been consulting with the Missouri Democratic Party for guidance on the selection process. The meeting begins at 1 p.m. at St. Andrew Lutheran Church in Poplar Bluff.  Earlier this month Republicans chose Jason Smith, speaker pro tem of the Missouri House of Representatives, while Libertarians nominated Bill Slantz of St. Charles.

Return to: Local News Blog