blank masthead

Incumbents go down in Perry County

Apr 03, 2013 -- 9:56am


Southeast Missourian

In an election where 12.5 percent of Perry County voters went to the polls, incumbents on the Perryville Board of Aldermen and Perry County School Board were defeated Tuesday.

In Perryville's Ward 2, Douglas K. Martin garnered 187 votes to take the seat away from the previous ward representative Randy J. Leible, who brought in 169 votes.

Nancy Voelker will be returning to the Perryville school board with her 665 votes along with new member Rick Francis. Francis defeated incumbent Tina M. Littge 647-601.

Candidates elected to the Perry County Memorial Hospital Board are Darrell L. Niswonger, for a five-year term, and Gregory Kent Unger, for a two-year term.

The Perry County Health Department Board will see the return of Yvonne M. Steinbecker and Connie L. Schuessler. George Thurm also ran to keep his seat on the board, but he was defeated when Wallie G. Breig gained more votes.

Return to: Local News Blog