blank masthead

2014 Historic Preservation Honor Awards

Oct 09, 2013 -- 3:15pm


Historic preservation is practiced by Missourians on every level, and you can help spotlight their efforts.  The Missouri Preservation Honor Awards recognize individuals, groups, and organizations that have contributed to the preservation of Missouri's rich and diverse collection of historic resources.  You can help recognize someone in your community.  Missouri legislators will be on hand to help present the awards and to gain firsthand knowledge of the important role historic resources play in all areas of the state.  All award recipients receive a one year free membership to Missouri Preservation. To download the nomination form, go to  Nominations must be postmarked by November 15th. Winners and nominators will be notified by mail after the selection process is completed.  The award ceremony will be held March 6, 2014.  


The Awards

The Rozier Award
Named in honor of Elizabeth McReynolds Rozier, one of the founding members of Missouri Preservation and a noted Jefferson City Preservationist, the Rozier Award was established to recognize individuals who have made significant achievements in the field of historic preservation in Missouri.  This is Missouri Preservation's most prestigious annual award.

The McReynolds Awards
The McReynolds Awards, also named in honor of Elizabeth McReynolds Rozier, are given annually to individuals or groups who have made significant achievements in the field or are in the midst of a long-term preservation project.  The McReynolds awards are among the most important awards given out each year by the organization.

Osmund Overby Award
The Overby Award was established in 2003 to recognize published works that contribute to the documentation and interpretation of Missouri's architectural history.  It honors Dr. Osmund Overby, Art History Professor Emeritus and former head of the historic preservation program at the University of Missouri, Columbia.  Dr. Overby is a nationally recognized leader in historic preservation.

The Preserve Missouri Awards
Presented for the first time in 2000, the Preserve Missouri awards recognize outstanding efforts and projects around the state.  Suggested categories include, but are not limited to: Commercial Revitalization, Institutional/Civic Building Restoration, Neighborhood Revitalization, Residential Rehabilitation, Historic Landscape Preservation, Rural Preservation, and Preservationist-in-Action .

Return to: Local News Blog