blank masthead

Inaugural Semoball Awards successful

Jun 23, 2014 -- 12:05pm

More than 150 high school athletes from Southeast Missouri were recognized Saturday at the inaugural Semoball Awards at the Show Me Center. The event had the look and feel of award shows like the Emmy’s and the Grammy’s, but on a much smaller scale. Southeast Missourian Sports Editor Rachel Crader tells KZIM-KSIM that it was important to do this the “right way” with special lights, decorations and a red carpet. Nineteen individuals were named the Player of the Year in their respective sports.  and two-time ESPY award-winning athlete and the first quadruple amputee to reach the summit of Mount Kilimanjaro, Kyle Maynard, spoke at the event. He replaced scheduled keynote speaker and Hall of Famer St. Louis Cardinal Ozzie Smith, who attended the funeral of his friend and fellow Hall of Fame baseball player Tony Gwynn on Saturday.


Semoball Award winners:

Boys basketball: Charleston's Delfincko Bogan

Baseball: Notre Dame's Josh Haggerty

Softball: Kelly's Alexis Dock

Girls Soccer: Notre Dame's Jordan Nelson

Boys Tennis: Cape Central's Alex Mailes

Boys Golf: Cape Central's Travis Simmons

Boys Track & Field: Charleston's Devonte Ware

Girls Track & Field: Jackson's Sierra Maddox

Girls Basketball: South Pemiscot's Carrie Shephard

Wrestling: Dexter's Trevor Waldner

Girls Swimming & Diving: Jackson's Caitlyn Palmer

Football defense: Poplar Bluff's Jacob Sliger

Football offense: Caruthersville's Darrell Monroe

Boys Swimming & Diving: Notre Dame's Zach Smith

Boys Soccer: Perryville's Luke Dobbelare

Girls Tennis: Kennett's Kate Shetley

Volleyball: Leopold's Caitlin Petty

Girls Cross Country: Jackson's Chelsea Drum

Boys Cross Country: Jackson's Gabe Underwood

Female Athlete of the Year: South Pemiscot's Carrie Shephard

Male Athlete of the Year: Kennett's Kevonte Mitchell

Coach of the Year: Chad Allen, Dexter Girls Basketball

Comeback Player of the Year: Leopold's Denai Arnzen

Sportsmanship Award: Kennett's Declan Wallace

Scholar Athlete Award: Malden's Darren Green

Best Fans in Southeast Missouri: Poplar Bluff

Return to: Local News Blog